Weekly Review: September 26, 2020

Weekly Review: September 26, 2020

3

Hello from Berlin! I’m thrilled to be here, though it’s a rainy few days, and the weather is definitely starting to get a bit colder. This is going to be an adjustment compared to Florida. 😉

On the points & travel front, this week assembly of the world’s final A380 was completed, SkyMiles eliminated change fees on domestic awards, details emerged about the new X1 Credit Card, the Capital One Venture Card got a great new bonus, Hawaiian Airlines and United Airlines introduced coronavirus testing programs, and more.

With that out of the way, here’s a recap of this week on the blog:

Featured Stories

Sad: The Final Airbus A380 Has Been Assembled

This week the final Airbus A380 to ever be produced rolled out from the final assembly line in Toulouse, France. Airbus held a special event for employees to commemorate this milestone, which was attended by Airbus CEO Guillaume Faury.

The final A380 has the manufacturer serial number (MSN) 272, so that’s how many A380s have been produced since production started in 2005.


SkyMiles Eliminates Domestic Award Change Fees, Extends More Perks

A few weeks ago we saw five major US airlines eliminate change fees on domestic tickets (at a minimum), including Alaska AirlinesAmerican AirlinesDelta Air LinesHawaiian Airlines, and United Airlines.

Some airlines included award tickets for the waived change fee policies, while others didn’t. Delta was among the airlines that didn’t. Fortunately that has changed as of this week.


Applying For Chase Ink Business Cards: What You Need To Know

Chase has some of the all around best credit cards, in terms of the welcome bonuses, return on spending, and perks. This is especially true with their business credit cards.


One Week at a Time

TIPS: Earning Miles & Promos

New X1 Credit Card: Too Good To Be True?
8 Reasons To Get Ink Business Preferred With Best-Ever 100K Bonus
Save At Radisson Hotels With Amex Offers
Save At Conrad & Waldorf Astoria With Amex Offers
Chase Freedom Flex: Product Change Or Apply?
10 Best Credit Card Offers September 2020
Incredible Southwest Companion Pass Promo
Applying For Chase Ink Business Cards: What You Need To Know
Save Up To 40% On Delta Flights With Amex Offers (Targeted)
Recap: 9 Opportunities To Buy Points
Marriott Offering Free Night After Two Stays For New Members
Chase Ultimate Rewards Credit Cards (2020 Guide)
Great New Amex Offer For Marriott Stays
Buy LifeMiles With 200% Bonus (Best-Ever Deal)!
Earn Status When You Buy Emirates Skywards Miles
IHG Rewards Club Selling Points With 75% Bonus
Increased Bonuses On Hilton Amex Cards
Ink Business Cash Card: 8 Reasons To Apply

TRICKS: Redeeming Miles

Hyatt 40 Night Milestone Reward: Which Is Best?
New Air Canada Super Elite Perk: Free Drink & Snack In Economy
SkyMiles Eliminates Domestic Award Change Fees, Extends More Perks
Capital One Miles: Everything You Need To Know

TRAVEL With Ben (Lucky)

My Chase Credit Card Strategy (2020)
Bye Miami, Hello Berlin (For Now)…

REVIEWS & Trip Reports

Capital One Venture Card Review (100K Bonus Miles)
Chase Sapphire Preferred Vs. Capital One Venture: Which Is Better?
Review: Frankfurt Airport’s Free Coronavirus Testing
Review: Jumeirah Hotel Frankfurt
Capital One Showdown: Venture Vs. VentureOne

NEWS & Updates

Cool Concept: Special Nike Boeing 787 For Athletes
Silvercar Moves From Airports To Audi Dealerships
Yay: Rossiya Will Acquire British Airways 747s!
WOW: Airbus’ Zero-Emission Commercial Aircraft Concept
“No Future” For Austrian Airlines 767s & 777s
Ryanair Mocks Irish Government With Fake Job Posting
Official: Lufthansa Retiring Entire A380 & A340-600 Fleet… Probably
Fiji Airways 737’s Epic Journey To Europe
UIA Will Fly 737s To New York (12+ Hours): World’s Worst Flight?
New York To Los Cabos: Look At That Capacity!
Cathay Pacific’s Interesting New Pittsburgh Cargo Flights
Marriott CEO Supports “Hygiene Theater” Concept, And I Tend To Agree
Qantas Put Fully Stocked 747 Bar Carts Up For Sale
Video: Air Force 2 Suffers Bird Strike On Takeoff
Virgin Points: Virgin Atlantic’s New Rewards Currency
United Airlines Introduces Airport COVID-19 Testing
Sad: The Final Airbus A380 Has Been Assembled
Qatar Airways Offering Free “Super Wifi” For 100 Days
Marriott May Lose 122 Hotels Over Dispute
Hawaiian Airlines Will Offer Drive-Through Coronavirus Testing
Man Jailed In Thailand For Negative Hotel Review
Delta Retiring CRJ-200 By 2023, 717 & 767-300 By 2025


I hope everyone has a great rest of the weekend!

Conversations (3)
The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.
Type your response here.

If you'd like to participate in the discussion, please adhere to our commenting guidelines. Anyone can comment, and your email address will not be published. Register to save your unique username and earn special OMAAT reputation perks!

  1. EndlosLuft Guest

    There are definitely some frequent flyers in Berlin (I live here to). Might be fun to organize a local frequent flyer lunch or dinner. So many good restaurants in the city.

  2. Tobias Guest

    Hello and once again welcome to Germany - the miles and points desolation ;-) I‘m afraid, you will find the local shopping related card options rather limited. The somewhat unsexy Payback American Express is pretty much the only option. It is a branded Amex blue which collects points in the Payback system (supermarkets, shops, drugstores and pharmacies, online outlets) that can be transferred to miles & more. Thus you can achieve one point per Euro...

    Hello and once again welcome to Germany - the miles and points desolation ;-) I‘m afraid, you will find the local shopping related card options rather limited. The somewhat unsexy Payback American Express is pretty much the only option. It is a branded Amex blue which collects points in the Payback system (supermarkets, shops, drugstores and pharmacies, online outlets) that can be transferred to miles & more. Thus you can achieve one point per Euro - as opposed to the m&m blue tier, which only allows s skimpy 0.5 point per Euro. You see, there is a lot of developing work for you.

  3. mauipeter Guest

    Hi Ben, what kind of test/quarantine did you have to do, arriving in Berlin?
    I am in the same situation, living in HI, with EU passport, and it looks like I have to finally let go of a nonrefundable $ 500 reservation for a wonderful place in Corfu. I guess I could pass it on to somebody, but all of my friends are still pretty freaked out about traveling, considering the rising numbers. I...

    Hi Ben, what kind of test/quarantine did you have to do, arriving in Berlin?
    I am in the same situation, living in HI, with EU passport, and it looks like I have to finally let go of a nonrefundable $ 500 reservation for a wonderful place in Corfu. I guess I could pass it on to somebody, but all of my friends are still pretty freaked out about traveling, considering the rising numbers. I am quite bummed about the heartlessness on the owner of the place. I refunded two folks immediately for my vacation rental in Costa Rica, when Covid came along, as did all of the vacation rental owners here on Maui, whose properties I manage. Enjoy Berlin !

Featured Comments Most helpful comments ( as chosen by the OMAAT community ).

The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.

EndlosLuft Guest

There are definitely some frequent flyers in Berlin (I live here to). Might be fun to organize a local frequent flyer lunch or dinner. So many good restaurants in the city.

0
Tobias Guest

Hello and once again welcome to Germany - the miles and points desolation ;-) I‘m afraid, you will find the local shopping related card options rather limited. The somewhat unsexy Payback American Express is pretty much the only option. It is a branded Amex blue which collects points in the Payback system (supermarkets, shops, drugstores and pharmacies, online outlets) that can be transferred to miles & more. Thus you can achieve one point per Euro - as opposed to the m&m blue tier, which only allows s skimpy 0.5 point per Euro. You see, there is a lot of developing work for you.

0
mauipeter Guest

Hi Ben, what kind of test/quarantine did you have to do, arriving in Berlin? I am in the same situation, living in HI, with EU passport, and it looks like I have to finally let go of a nonrefundable $ 500 reservation for a wonderful place in Corfu. I guess I could pass it on to somebody, but all of my friends are still pretty freaked out about traveling, considering the rising numbers. I am quite bummed about the heartlessness on the owner of the place. I refunded two folks immediately for my vacation rental in Costa Rica, when Covid came along, as did all of the vacation rental owners here on Maui, whose properties I manage. Enjoy Berlin !

0
Meet Ben Schlappig, OMAAT Founder
5,163,247 Miles Traveled

32,614,600 Words Written

35,045 Posts Published

Keep Exploring OMAAT
  • December 12, 2020
  • Ben Schlappig
2
Weekly Review: December 12, 2020
  • August 29, 2020
  • Ben Schlappig
2
Weekly Review: August 29, 2020
  • October 6, 2018
  • Ben Schlappig
3
Weekly Review: October 6, 2018