Weekly Review: February 25, 2017

Weekly Review: February 25, 2017

13

Hello from Paris, after flying Qatar Airways here from Doha! I’m just finishing up a crazy trip that has spanned most of February, and am spending this weekend in Paris. As I reflect on my travels, I realize that it has been about a decade since I’ve last spent more than a layover in Paris. It’s a city I don’t love (unlike just about everyone else in the world) based on memory, though I’m curious how I feel about it this time around. On the plus side, the weather is gorgeous.

Qatar-Airways-First

On the miles & points front we’ve seen a few cool promotions this week, including with the SPG Amex, American Business Extra, an extra bonus on purchased LifeMiles, and much more. It has been an especially crazy couple of weeks of travel for me, so I’ve also been writing about that.

With that out of the way, here’s a recap of this week on the blog:

Featured Stories

Why You Shouldn’t Have To “Dress The Part” In First Class

garuda-indonesia-first-class-24

I always enjoy writing about travel etiquette on the blog, as it generates some interesting discussions. In this post I wanted to briefly share my (perhaps controversial) thoughts on airplane dress etiquette.

Perhaps this is partly a response to some of the comments that were left on my Garuda Indonesia first class trip report, about the fact that I wore green “sneakers” on the flight.


Earn Miles (Or Make Money) For Rent & Mortgage Payments

KLM-delft-blue-houses-14Plastiq is a good way to pay bills with a credit card that you otherwise couldn’t. This lets you earn miles and points while paying your rent, mortgage, insurance, electric bill, property taxes, or a variety of other bills for which the provider doesn’t accept credit cards.

I’ve been using the Plastiq service on and off for the past year or so and have had a really good experience overall. There are fees involved, of course, so you need to make a conscious decision as to whether to use Plastiq based on your own personal value of the miles and points you’ll be earning.

That said, Plastiq has an offer out now that could make the decision to pay your rent or mortgage a little easier depending on your situation.


One Week at a Time Logo

TIPS: Earning Miles & Promos

GREAT Deal: 650 Bonus Business Extra Points On Your Next Flight
10 Best Credit Card Offers For February
10% Cashback At Restaurants With New Amex Welcome Bonuses
Why Marriott Loyalists Should Apply For The SPG Amex
Earn Miles (Or Make Money) For Rent & Mortgage Payments
One Week Left: Up To 100K American Miles With 2 Credit Cards
Amazing Deal: $8.62 Off $50+ Purchase At Amazon Today
Special LifeMiles Promo For OMAAT Readers: Buy Miles With A 140% Bonus
Last Chance For A Great Increased Welcome Bonus
Claim Your (Free) Share Of 7 Million Virgin Australia Points
Creative Ways To Get More Than One “Free” IHG Night Per Year
New 40% Bonus On Alaska Mileage Plan Miles
7 Reasons To Get An SPG Amex Business Card

TRICKS: Redeeming Miles

American May Be Willing To Extend Expiring Systemwide Upgrades
LifeMiles Quadruples Award Ticket Cancelation Fees In Some Markets
Hilton Points & Money Awards Are Being Rolled Out March 1, 2017

TRAVEL With Ben (Lucky)

How I’m Flying To & From Bhutan (I Think?)
The Hilarious Conclusion To My Qatar Airways Nap Room Drama
One Of The World’s Best Lounges Has Unbelievably Asinine Policies
The One Reason I Love The Vibe Of Dubai
Why You Shouldn’t Have To “Dress The Part” In First Class
I’m Embarrassed By How Many Upgrades I Have Expiring Next Week…
Is This The Best Hotel Room TV Setup Ever?
My New Favorite Trip Planning Tool

REVIEWS & Trip Reports

Review: Mosaic City Hotel Madaba Jordan
Review: Emirates First Class 777-300ER Dubai To Amman
Review: Emirates First Class A380 San Francisco To Dubai
Review: Emirates Lounge San Francisco Airport
Introduction: Road-Trip Through Jordan
Review: Pentahotel Hong Kong
My First Time Flying In Business Class “Honeymoon Seats”
Review: United Polaris Lounge Chicago

NEWS & Updates

Stupid: Egypt More Than Doubles Cost Of Tourist Visas
Cathay Pacific Will Soon Serve Beer Specially Brewed For 35,000 Feet
Swiss Will Begin Charging Extra To Assign Select Business Class Seats
World of Hyatt May Encourage You To Stay Somewhere Else
Video From Last Night: Plane Crash Lands After Landing Gear Collapses
British Airways Is Introducing Business Class On Domestic Flights
American Seems To Be Delaying The Sale Of Premium Economy
The “World of Hyatt” Philosophy Goes Beyond The Loyalty Program
Qantas Reveals Their New 787 Premium Economy
Norwegian Is Shaking Up The Transatlantic Market With The 737-MAX
Whoa: Emirates Is Introducing A New Onboard Bar
US Immigration Officers Are Now Checking IDs On Domestic Flights?!
Yay: Garuda Indonesia Formally Requests LAX Flights
U.S. Denies Entry To Canadian Man “Looking For Loads” On Hookup App
United Basic Economy Tickets Are Now On Sale (And Being Marketed Dishonestly)
Oman Air Is Slowly Killing First Class
Hyatt’s New Globalist Status Requires Even More Nights Than We Thought
American Basic Economy Fares Are Now On Sale In 10 Markets
Interesting: Qatar Airways Is Leasing A350s From LATAM
Hainan’s Two New LAX Routes Are Now Bookable
Trump’s New Travel Ban Could Be Implemented Tuesday
Man Sues Uber For Getting Caught Cheating On His Wife
The One Hotel In North America I REALLY Want To Visit…


I hope everyone has a great rest of the weekend!

Conversations (13)
The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.
Type your response here.

If you'd like to participate in the discussion, please adhere to our commenting guidelines. Anyone can comment, and your email address will not be published. Register to save your unique username and earn special OMAAT reputation perks!

  1. Vihan Guest

    Hey Lucky!
    Welcome to Paris! I just moved here a few weeks ago to do a French course for a semester and love the city so much!
    Let me know if you'd like to go out for a coffee or see some cool places around today.

  2. Chris Guest

    I have to visit Paris once a month for work. Hate the place with a passion. It is the smelly arm pit of Europe.

    Absolutely love the rest of France though - especially Lyon & the South of France.

  3. Credit Guest

    I hate Paris. I hate people that love Paris.

    Never been to Paris. Just based on reading the comments here.

    Paris is most overrated, ugly, dirty soulless city you can think of.

    The women are hot though. If you can get a few of them to sleep with you AT THE SAME TIME, it would be possible only in Paris.

  4. Dan Guest

    It says so much about you as a person that you don't like Paris yet love Dubai.

    Is Ford the same or opposite?

  5. Nate Guest

    Never been to Paris, but base on what many of my friends tell me... I would visit London over Paris.

  6. Carrie Gold

    A man who does not love Paris is without a soul - a place where one is able to sample the perfect croissant, baguette, champagne, chocolat, fromage - needs to spend more time in this perfect city. It is the first class of Europe with perfect service and gorgeous amenities - it requires time and love to appreciate the charms of a complicated love!

  7. JustSaying Guest

    Please tell me the other cities you hate because I probably will love them and want to visit ASAP!

  8. Sebastian the Ibis New Member

    When I think of Paris, the first thing that comes to mind are transit strikes and pickpockets. My biggest pet peeve is when people perceive Paris and London to be the only cities in Europe (although I love London).

  9. Trup Member

    Agree with others. Love London, could go back anytime. as far as Paris- been there, done that, checked it off the travel box and wont be going back.

  10. Andrew Guest

    @Bernardo - I am with you 100%. Love London. Not a fan of Paris.

  11. Bernardo Ng Guest

    I don't love Paris either. in fact I don't like it. The one city in Europe I do love with a passion in is London which a lot of people I've talked about disagree with.

  12. Maya Gauvin Guest

    dear Lucky and Alexis....
    Paris it's just like every big city in the world, always busy and crowded.
    Even my husband who was born in France, he never like Paris.
    Fortunately we live in small village...

    Have a nice stay in Paris anyway...Lucky.

  13. Alexis Guest

    No, you are not the only one who does not like Paris. Well at least for me- it's just overrated city, there are nicer cities out there. Mind you, Paris is a nice place for just strolling around, maybe with Ford this time?

Featured Comments Most helpful comments ( as chosen by the OMAAT community ).

The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.

Vihan Guest

Hey Lucky! Welcome to Paris! I just moved here a few weeks ago to do a French course for a semester and love the city so much! Let me know if you'd like to go out for a coffee or see some cool places around today.

0
Chris Guest

I have to visit Paris once a month for work. Hate the place with a passion. It is the smelly arm pit of Europe. Absolutely love the rest of France though - especially Lyon & the South of France.

0
Credit Guest

I hate Paris. I hate people that love Paris. Never been to Paris. Just based on reading the comments here. Paris is most overrated, ugly, dirty soulless city you can think of. The women are hot though. If you can get a few of them to sleep with you AT THE SAME TIME, it would be possible only in Paris.

0
Meet Ben Schlappig, OMAAT Founder
5,163,247 Miles Traveled

32,614,600 Words Written

35,045 Posts Published

Keep Exploring OMAAT
  • April 25, 2020
  • Ben Schlappig
4
Weekly Review: April 25, 2020
  • October 6, 2018
  • Ben Schlappig
3
Weekly Review: October 6, 2018
  • March 25, 2017
  • Ben Schlappig
2
Weekly Review: March 25, 2017