Weekly Review: November 14, 2020

Weekly Review: November 14, 2020

1

Hello from Berlin! Since Germany has been in lockdown there’s not a whole lot to report here in terms of what I did this week, though the darkness and lack of sun sure is starting to get to me, especially coming from Florida. 😉 Then again, there is something nice about being in fall, since that’s not something I otherwise typically get.

On the points & travel front, this week the new Aeroplan program was launched, we saw some new best-ever promotions on purchased miles and credit cards, American AAdvantage eliminated award change and redeposit fees, South Africa reopened its borders, United scheduled its first flights from JFK, and more.

With that out of the way, here’s a recap of this week on the blog:

Featured Stories

NOW LIVE: Aeroplan’s Spectacularly Unique New Award Chart

Back in August, Air Canada revealed the full details of its new Aeroplan frequent flyer program. Well, the new program has just gone live as of today.

In this post I wanted to recap all the changes, because there’s a lot to love about the program. I’ll be focusing specifically on Aeroplan’s radically new approach to award pricing, which is unlike any other program out there.


Best-Ever Chase Ink Cash & Ink Unlimited Bonus: 75K Points Or $750

I consider the three Chase Ink cards to be among the best business credit cards out there. Well, the two no annual fee cards have just received all new welcome offers.


WorkSpaces By Hilton: 10K Points With First Booking

We’re seeing the major hotel groups try to get creative in order to fill rooms, given the huge drop in both business and leisure travel. Hilton has just launched one such initiative, and there’s even a pretty nice incentive to give it a try.


One Week at a Time

TIPS: Earning Miles & Promos

Full Details: New Air Canada Aeroplan Credit Cards
United MileagePlus Selling Miles With 85% Bonus
Buy LifeMiles For 1.1 Cents Each (200% Bonus)
United Explorer Card Bonus: Earn Up To 70K Miles
Best-Ever Chase Ink Cash & Ink Unlimited Bonus: 75K Points Or $750
United MileagePlus Makes It Easier To Earn Premier Status In 2021
Wow: Amex Platinum Offering 75K Points, 10x Points
WorkSpaces By Hilton: 10K Points With First Booking
15 Best Credit Card Offers November 2020
GREAT Time To Apply For Chase Freedom Unlimited
Buy Alaska Mileage Plan Miles With A Mystery Bonus
Amex Platinum Card Review (2020)

TRICKS: Redeeming Miles

Redeem Air Canada Aeroplan Miles On Air Serbia
Transfer Chase Points To Avios With 30% Bonus
NOW LIVE: Aeroplan’s Spectacularly Unique New Award Chart
American AAdvantage Eliminating Award Change & Redeposit Fees
How To Use Marriott Bonvoy Suite Night Awards

REVIEWS & Trip Reports

American Express Aeroplan Reserve Card Review
United Explorer Card Review With 70K Bonus Miles (2020)

NEWS & Updates

Four Seasons (Total Landscaping) Philadelphia Wins The Internet
Revealed: Starlux Airlines’ Planned US Routes
Ethiopian Airlines’ New Reverse Herringbone Business Class Seats
Canada says airlines can have government help when they issue refunds to customers
Qatar Airways’ Lawsuit Against Saudi News Station
Norway Denies Aid To Norwegian Air: Game Over?
Uh Oh: Qatar Airways Introduces “Basic” Business Class
Alaska Airlines Appoints (Predictable) New CEO
Nuts: People Have Bought 50 Tons Of Airline Nuts
Air Arabia Maroc’s Unbelievably Long 171 Mile Flight
Spirit Airlines Flight Attendant Goes On Shocking Rant
American Airlines Launches New Wifi Subscription
Official: United Airlines Launching Flights From JFK To LAX & SFO
Details: Hong Kong & Singapore “Travel Bubble”
How Some Qantas A380 Pilots Became Bus Drivers
LIFT, South Africa’s Newest Airline With Old Planes And Wine Flights
Thai Airways Now Selling Napkins & Toothpicks
Alaska Wants To Become A Global Airline Hub
TripAdvisor Outsmarts Hotel, Posts Harsh Warning
Interesting Research: Effectiveness Of 14-Day Self-Quarantine For Travel
Ouch: Emirates Reports Record $3.4 Billion Loss
Uganda Airlines’ Gorgeous New A330-800neo
South Africa Opening Borders To All Visitors
Rosa Alpina, Aman’s New Hotel In Italy’s Dolomites Mountains
Of Course There’s A Coronavirus Outbreak On The First Caribbean Cruise In Months…
JetBlue Will Stop Blocking Seats In Early 2021
Alila Hinu Bay: The Hyatt I’m Most Excited About
Russia Accuses Aeroflot Manager Of Treason
Peninsula’s Amazingly Generous New Flexible Stay Policy
Singapore Airlines Pulls First & Suites Availability Through October 2021
Chile’s Borders Are Reopening To Visitors (Including Americans)
United Airlines Executive Still Missing, 100 Days Later


I hope everyone has a great rest of the weekend!

Conversations (1)
The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.
Type your response here.

If you'd like to participate in the discussion, please adhere to our commenting guidelines. Anyone can comment, and your email address will not be published. Register to save your unique username and earn special OMAAT reputation perks!

  1. Bill Guest

    Do you know if Chase is doing retention offers on the Ink card with the AF?

Featured Comments Most helpful comments ( as chosen by the OMAAT community ).

The comments on this page have not been provided, reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any advertiser, and it is not an advertiser's responsibility to ensure posts and/or questions are answered.

Bill Guest

Do you know if Chase is doing retention offers on the Ink card with the AF?

0
Meet Ben Schlappig, OMAAT Founder
4,988,713 Miles Traveled

29,627,500 Words Written

32,815 Posts Published

Keep Exploring OMAAT
  • November 2, 2019
  • Ben Schlappig
1
Weekly Review: November 2, 2019
  • May 27, 2017
  • Ben Schlappig
9
Weekly Review: May 27, 2017
  • March 18, 2017
  • Ben Schlappig
3
Weekly Review: March 18, 2017