Have a travel related question? Post it here, and I’ll do my best to answer it as quickly as possible.
While anyone can comment on regular blog post, registration is required in order to post a question in this space. Creating your account is free, and you'll be able to see when your question is answered, as well as like comments from other users. And of course, you'll earn status points for offering helpful answers!
This space is intended to be more of a community as well, so please jump in and share tips!
Qatar award using AA
Is it possible to book an award ticket on Qatar from JFK–>BKK via Doha using AA miles?
I called AA and they said wasn’t possible. Would that mean the reverse isn’t possible also (BKK–>JFK via Doha)?
No, you can’t transit to Asia going east using AA miles [edited] on a single saver ticket. Basically you aren’t allowed to transit a 3rd region. Exceptions are: To South Africa either Europe or Doha assuming in on QR and out on QR (Not in on Etihad and out on Qatar), Asia 2 (where you want to go you can transit via Asia 1 (Japan/Seoul). There are other exceptions as well but these pretty much cover the US. The middle east you can go east and west assuming west is through Hong Kong on CX.
AA’s routing rules can be frustrating. Especially going to Australia. You have to go direct and QF and AA open no space to speak of. The good news is your route you can do on pretty easy on CX through Hong Kong or JL through Tokyo from JFK.
Keep in mind however, that you should check BA.com for space before you call an agent and besides, JAL and CX are almost on the same level as QR and much easier to get space on (you could fly CX/JL out and the other back)
Also, as an FYI if you have more miles than you know what to do with, you can book an award for that routing, you just need to pay for two awards instead of paying for a single award. You can find more information on AA routing rules at [URL]http://onemileatatime.boardingarea.com/2014/06/08/american-aadvantage-award-routing-rules/[/URL].
[USER=79]@Gaurav[/USER] is right — it’s [I]possible[/I], it just doesn’t fall under the normal routing rules, so you’d pay the price of two awards. It can still be issued on one ticket though.